Back to where it all began- Bright Lights

Hello, long time no post. I’m not very good at keeping on top of this blogging thing am I?

Essentially today I thought I would take it back to where it all began. When I was about 10 I got my first iPod, and I thought it was the coolest thing ever. It was a green iPod nano, where you had to scroll a circular key pad (which was very annoying for big handed people like myself). I remember my dad had just figured out how to download songs on itunes, and he downloaded one album onto my iPod: Bright Lights, by Ellie Goulding.

As I have gotten older I am a much less frequent listener if Goulding’s music, but I obsessed over this album when I was younger. Not because I was a huge Ellie Goulding fan, but purely for the sheer joy of listening to music. I would dance to every song and sing in my bedroom. A song from the album that I still like to sing along to now is ‘The Writer’ it really is a beautiful song.

The reason I have decided to write about this album is despite the fact pop music wouldn’t be my preferred genre, this album is everything I do love about pop music. Goulding’s wispy voice is a perfect match for the electro sounds on this album. There is enough up tempo songs to keep you interested, but the slower songs are just as powerful.
I thought I would tell you my top 3 songs which you should definitely listen to:
The Writer: I just love the lyrics behind this song and it an easy song to listen to. You don’t really have to think too much about it to enjoy it,
and sometimes thats exactly what music needs to be.

Little Dreams: This upbeat song has a clearly retro vibe to it. The
electronic sounds are a perfect fit with the melody.

Guns and Horses: This song gives a nice contrast to the electro heavy songs on the album. A pleasant listen, with a light feel to the song.

I’m not going to lie, writing about why I liked the songs was a little difficult! I have liked them since I was 10 years old, it’s become natural for me to enjoy listening to them. If you are looking for a sensational album with completely powerful and songs, then this album probably won’t float your boat. But if you want a change from the samey pop music on the charts at the moment, give this album a whirl. There isn’t a song I dislike on the album, which I think proves it must be good.

I hope you enjoyed reading, be sure to give the blog a follow, it would be much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

