Top 10 Arctic Monkeys Songs- Part 1 (6-10

I have decided to dedicate this post entirely to the Arctic Monkeys. They are honestly one of the most unique British bands that have improved and evolved album after album. I thought I would give you a run down of my top 10 Arctic Monkeys songs. I also plan on reviewing The Last Shadow Puppets album this month, so I hope you don’t get bored of hearing about Alex Turner. I mean how could you, he is Alex Turner after all.

10. Crying Lightning, Humbug
From the Arctic Monkeys third album, this song features lots of chromaticism, climaxing with the riff in the chorus. The song has quite a spooky feel. Alex’s voice goes perfectly with the song, his tone is so smooth. I personally love the guitar solo and the use of sound effects. The moments where it is just alex singing with no instruments are so effective and really create impact.

9. From The Ritz To The Rubble, Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not.
I always forget how much how love this song! Alex’s distinct accent comes to play in this song. The song is full of energy, particularly with the repeated pattern with the guitar and drums. The song has a rugged feel. It is interesting comparing this sound to AM, it is so different.

8. Arabella, AM
This was one of my favourite songs when I first got into the Arctic Monkeys. Personally I believe the guitar with the falsetto voice make this song. The harsh guitar playing contrasts with the soft falsetto voice. It is a more mature feel than the songs mentioned above. However there are still hints of Turner’s Sheffield accent, of course.

7. When The Sun Goes Down, Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not
Another of my favourites from their first album. I love the soft beginning and ending of this song, with the more punky feel of the rest of the song. This is a prime example of the Arctic Monkeys storytelling about nightlife in the north. The lyrics are so blunt and honest, it enables the listener to create a clear picture of the scenario Turner sings about.

6. Fluorescent Adolescent, Favourite Worst Nightmare
This song has truly passed the test of time, remaining one of the most popular Arctic Monkeys to date. The lighthearted story like lyrics documents a women getting older and losing her sex appeal. Personally I love this song because it is a easy listen, and is such a typical sound from the early Arctic Monkeys.

That is the first part of this post, check back soon for my top 5 Arctic Monkeys songs.

2 comments

  1. thriftyvintage · April 10, 2016

    I love the Arctic monkeys so much! My fave albums are favourite worst nightmare and whatever people say that’s what I am not! I don’t know if I could pick a favourite song though xx

    Thrifty vintage fashion

    Liked by 1 person

    • Phoebe · April 10, 2016

      Yes, I love favourite worst nightmare the best! I have my top 5 songs up tomorrow, it was difficult to choose!x

      Like

Leave a Reply

